Where There’s Rain, There’s Flood Potential

« Back to Blog

Flooding sign

For many people in the United States flooding is thought to exist only along the coasts. News of hurricanes reinforce those ideas, but it is a mistake to think that floods happen only along coasts, rivers, lakes or streams. Where it rains, it can flood, which is a message being delivered by the Insurance Institute for Business and Home Safety (IIBHS).

In a recent publication, IIBHS offers tips on identifying areas of potential exposure, preparing for an oncoming storm, and offers checklists for businesses. Understanding exposure to flood is important for all business, not just those that are located near a flood zone. While the opportunity for flood may be greater in those areas, not preparing can leave exposure to a preventable loss, and invite an entire separate set of problems and demands.

Using the tool provided by IIBHS can be a good first step to preventing potential problems before they start. Understanding your insurance coverage can be another step in that process. Make sure that preparing is part of the plan, and use the free guide to help make the approach more sound.

Make Sure Your Financial Institution Clients Have the Right Coverage

Contact any one of the FI insurance experts below for help in making sure your FI customers have the right coverage from a strong, stable company!

VP Sales and Distribution/Great Plains Region
Jon Martin
269-362-7166
jmartin@berkleyfs.com
Southeast Region
Scott Mynatt
770-495-5967
smynatt@berkleyfs.com
Northeast Region
Jeanne Shrum
207-415-4587
jshrum@berkleyfs.com
South Region
Scott Harris
512-800-5393
sharris@berkleyfs.com
Great Lake Regions
Dave Cassel
443-987-8619
dcassel@berkleyfs.com
Northwest Region
Pete Verretto
206-802-3076
pverretto@berkleyfs.com

“News You Can Use” E-Blast

Sign up for the latest news from Berkley Financial Specialists.

Let us know how
we can deliver for you!

866.539.3995
info@berkleyfs.com