Prepare NOW…LATER Won’t Matter!

Person standing in flooded room

News of hurricanes reinforces the need to prepare now for potential flooding. No other kind of natural disaster in the United States has caused more deaths and destruction than flooding. Therefore, it’s always best to try to prepare ahead as much as you can.

Floods are a natural process influenced largely by the weather and driven by the amount of rainfall and the length of time it falls. Being prepared is a crucial first step to preventing potential problems before they start. Understanding your insurance coverage can be another step in that process.

We have outlined a few recommendations to assist you in reducing the likelihood of flood damage to your business:

  • Install back-flow valves or standpipes to prevent sewer lines from backing up
  • Install a sump pump system if you have below-grade floors
  • Landscape with plants and vegetation that resist soil erosion
  • Store important documents somewhere other than the 1st level/basement areas
  • Install a flood-detection device that sounds an alarm or calls your phone if it senses water
  • Keep gutters and drainage downspouts clean from leaves and other debris that may clog them
  • Seal walls in lower levels with waterproofing compounds to avoid seepage

For additional recommendations to help protect your business from floods please visit Disastersafety.org.

Make Sure Your Financial Institution Clients Have the Right Coverage!

Business woman smiling shaking handsContact any one of the FI insurance experts below for help in making sure your FI customers have the right coverage from a strong, stable company!

Northeast Region
Jeanne Shrum
207-415-4587
jshrum@berkleyfs.com
Southeast Region
Scott Mynatt
770-495-5967
smynatt@berkleyfs.com
Midatlantic Region
Dave Cassel
443-987-8619
dcassel@berkleyfs.com
South Region
Scott Harris
512-800-5393
sharris@berkleyfs.com
Midwest Region
Sean Gleason
312-469-6990
sgleason@berkleyfs.com
Northwest Region
Pete Verretto
206-802-3076
pverretto@berkleyfs.com

“News You Can Use” E-Blast

Sign up for the latest news from Berkley Financial Specialists.

Let us know how
we can deliver for you!

866.539.3995
info@berkleyfs.com