FBI Warns of Increased Fraud Schemes During Midst of COVID-19 Pandemic

microscopic view of virus

On Monday, April 13th, the FBI issued an industry alert warning regarding rapidly emerging business email compromise (BEC) schemes related to procurement of personal protective equipment (PPE) and other equipment in short supply in the midst of the current COVID-19 pandemic. The warning reported on evolving schemes and deceptions being committed by criminals looking to capitalize on the current crisis.

The BEC schemes, which our industry refers to commonly as Social Engineering Fraud schemes, include spoofing known email addresses to redirect legitimate payments to other bank accounts. Crisis times such as COVID-19 are perfect storms for fraudsters as they prey on people in companies who feel they need to complete payments quickly or to vendors/partners who they do not traditionally do business with in order to respond to the business pressures of the pandemic. These people are often those who have the best intentions with their actions but sway from their guidelines in hopes of helping combat the pressures.

The FBI suggests several recommendations for organizations to protect themselves during this time. Click here to learn more.

Make Sure Your Financial Institution Clients Have the Right Coverage!

Contact any one of the FI insurance experts below for help in making sure your FI customers have the right coverage from a strong, stable company!

Northeast Region
Jeanne Shrum
207-415-4587
jshrum@berkleyfs.com
Southeast Region
Scott Mynatt
770-495-5967
smynatt@berkleyfs.com
Midatlantic Region
Dave Cassel
443-987-8619
dcassel@berkleyfs.com
South Region
Scott Harris
512-800-5393
sharris@berkleyfs.com
Midwest Region
Sean Gleason
312-469-6990
sgleason@berkleyfs.com
Northwest Region
Pete Verretto
206-802-3076
pverretto@berkleyfs.com

“News You Can Use” E-Blast

Sign up for the latest news from Berkley Financial Specialists.

Let us know how
we can deliver for you!

866.539.3995
info@berkleyfs.com